ALBUQUERQUE, NM – The State Bar of New Mexico announces its leadership for 2022: President Carolyn A. Wolf (Santa Fe), President-Elect Benjamin I. Sherman (Albuquerque), and Secretary-Treasurer Erinna M. Atkins (Alamogordo). The State Bar is governed by a 23-member Board of Bar Commissioners (BBC) elected by membership.

President Wolf and Treasurer Atkins were sworn in by New Mexico Supreme Court Justice C. Shannon Bacon during a ceremony December 8, 2021. President-Elect Sherman will be officially sworn in later this year.

Carolyn A. Wolf is an attorney in Santa Fe. She is a graduate of Rice University (BA, 1973) and the University of New Mexico School of Law (JD, 1976). In more than 20 years in state government, she has served as in-house counsel for the Human Services Department, the Health and Environment Department, and the Taxation and Revenue Department, and has served as counsel for other agencies, boards, and commissions as counsel in the Civil Division of the Attorney General’s Office. Carolyn was General Counsel for the Department of Finance and Administration and the Taxation and Revenue Department. She was named Public Advocate of the Year in 2017. Carolyn was also a partner and legal counsel at Montgomery & Andrews, PA. She is a past Chair of the Public Law Department, represents the Board of Bar Commissioners on the Appeals Committee and serves on the Advisory Committee of the Compilation Commission. Carolyn represents the Third Bar Commissioner District, which includes Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval and Santa Fe counties.

Benjamin “Ben” I. Sherman is the founder of Ben Sherman Law LLC, based in Albuquerque. His practice focuses on representing aggrieved workers in worker compensation cases. Before opening his own law practice, he enjoyed serving the public as a prosecutor with the 2nd District Attorney’s Office and as an assistant city attorney with the City of Albuquerque Legal Department. Sherman is a proud graduate of the University of New Mexico Law School (JD, 2008) and has been fortunate to have practiced law in New Mexico for the past eleven years. Fluent in Spanish, he enjoys representing people from all communities and appreciates New Mexico’s unique diversity and rich traditions. Sherman is a past chair and board member of the Young Lawyers Division of the State Bar of New Mexico and currently serves on the Alumni Board of the University of New Mexico School of Law. In his free time, he enjoys volunteering, playing soccer, kayaking, hiking, making music, reading, and spending time with family and friends. Ben represents the Second Circuit (Bernalillo County).

Erinna “Erin” M. Atkins is an attorney in Alamogordo, where she practices law with her father, S. Bert Atkins. She specializes in criminal defense and children’s rights and works and lives in the Twelfth Circuit. She proudly serves as a guardian ad litem in cases of abuse and neglect and mental health guardianships. Atkins is active in her local community and currently serves as commissioner for the NM Commission on Community Volunteering, the Children’s Rights Division, the Twelfth Judicial District Pro Bono Committee, and a statewide nonprofit service organization, as well as the adult substitute drug judge. Atkins received the 2016 Young Lawyer of the Year Award for the Twelfth Judicial Circuit and is a 2009 graduate of the University of New Mexico School of Law (JD, 2009). Atkins received the 2018 Outstanding Service Award from the State Bar’s Young Lawyer’s Division for her years of service. Erin represents the Twelfth Judicial District (Lincoln and Otero counties).

The State Bar of New Mexico was founded in 1886 and has more than 9,000 members. Its purpose is to assist the courts in administering justice and upholding the rule of law, and to promote a high standard of integrity and competence within the legal profession.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.