United Arab Emirates cricket: Shah Rukh Khan, Mumbai Indians, Manchester United are part of the Emirates T20 League – News – World

There will be no shortage of international stars at the Band New tournament

Dubai International Cricket-Stadion in Dubai. Foto: AFP

Per Webdesk



Released: Sa, 20.11.2021, 15:31

The United Arab Emirates will soon have their own T20 league.

And there will be no shortage of international stars as the UAE is well positioned geographically, not to mention its references in successfully hosting the recently concluded T20 World Cup, the IPL and the PSL.

Six heavyweights of franchise tournaments worldwide, including IPL’s Mumbai Indians and Shah Rukh Khan’s Knight Riders franchise, will join hands in the upcoming Emirates T20 League next January, the Times of India reported on Friday.

The Glazer family, owners of Manchester United football club, which recently missed their offer for one of the two new IPL franchises, will also invest in the new league.

The financial services company Capri Global also showed interest in the offers for the IPL franchise. They too will fund a team in the Emirates T20 League. Kiran Kumar Gandhi, co-owner of Delhi Capitals, will also invest in the league, albeit excluding Parth Jindal, the other 50% co-owner of the IPL franchise.

The Sydney Sixers, one of Australia’s most successful Big Bash League franchises, form the final team in the Emirates T20 League, adding to their longstanding attempts to invest in leagues outside their home country.


Work on the league began in 2019. The Chennai Super Kings franchise had also shown initial interest but later withdrew.

The league was sanctioned by the ECB Chairman Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, Minister for Tolerance and Coexistence. Sheikh Nahyan is an avid cricket fan and played a huge role in hosting and hosting the T20 World Cup, the IPL, in the United Arab Emirates.

The UAE League will follow the same concept of successful franchise leagues around the world such as the Indian Premier League, Pakistan Super League (PSL), Australian Big Bash (BBL), Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and many others. The ECB announced that the modalities of the league are still being worked out.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *