Medicine Nobel Prize 2021 for temperature researchers: David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian awarded |

This year’s Nobel Prize in Medicine goes to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for their discovery of temperature and touch receptors in the body. This was announced by the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm. You can find out more about the Nobel Prize for Medicine 2021 here.

German Nobel Prize in Medicine

former Nobel Prize winners

The first Nobel Prize for Medicine was awarded to a German in 1901: Emil von Behring. He got it for his success in serum therapy, which brought decisive progress in the fight against diphtheria. And the first German woman to receive a Nobel Prize also received it in medicine: Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard was honored in 1995 together with two American colleagues for her research on the genetic control of embryonic development.

The last German to be honored in the field of medicine is Thomas Südhof in 2013: The physician, who was born and raised in Germany and is also an American citizen, worked with two US colleagues to solve the riddle of how cells organize their transport system.

Chronicle: medicine award winners of the past years

  • 2020: US researchers Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton and Charles M. Rice for discovering the hepatitis C virus
  • 2019: Peter Ratcliffe (Great Britain), William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza (both USA) for discovering how cells perceive the oxygen content of the environment
  • 2018: James P. Allison (USA) and Tasuku Honjo (Japan) for their research on proteins in the fight against cancer
  • 2017: Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash, and Michael W. Young (all USA) for researching the internal clock
  • 2016: Yoshinori Ohsumi (Japan) for his research on so-called autophagy, the “self-digestion” of cells
  • 2015: William Campell (Ireland), Satoshi Ōmura (Japan), Tu Youyou (China) for combating disease-carrying parasites
  • 2014: John O’Keefe (USA) and the couple May-Britt and Edvard Moser (Norway) for their research on how the human brain stores and processes location information
  • 2013: James Rothman (USA), Randy Schekman (USA) and Thomas Südhof (Germany and USA) for their discoveries on transport processes in cells.
  • 2012: The Japanese Shinya Yamanaka and the British John Gurdon for their discovery of how mature, specialized body cells can be reprogrammed into immature, pluripotent cells.
  • 2011: Of the US researcher Bruce A. Beutler, the French Jules A. Hoffmann and the Canadian Ralph M. Steinman have identified key principles of the body’s immune defense with their research.
  • 2010: The Briton Robert Edwards brought about the first artificial insemination of a human egg cell in a test tube – and thus created the first “test tube baby”.
  • 2009: The Americans Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Carol W. Greider and Jack W. Szostak have discovered what causes cells to age and discovered the “fountain of youth” enzyme.
  • 2008: The Heidelberg tumor researcher Harald zur Hausen for discovering the papilloma virus that causes cervical cancer, and the French Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier for discovering the AIDS pathogen HIV.
  • 2007: The US researchers Mario R. Capecchi and Oliver Smithies as well as the Briton Martin J. Evans for their technique of specifically switching off genes in experimental mice
  • 2006: The US researchers Andrew Z. Fire and Craig C. Mello for a technique with which genes can be specifically silenced.
  • 2005: Barry J. Marshall and J. Robin Warren (both Australia) for the discovery of the gastric germ Heliobacter pylori and its role in the development of gastric ulcers.
  • 2004: Richard Axel and Linda Buck (both USA) for unraveling the sense of smell in great detail.
  • 2003: Paul C. Lauterbur (USA) and Sir Peter Mansfield (GB) for their contributions to the use of magnetic resonance imaging in medicine.
  • 2002: Sydney Brenner (GB), H. Robert Horovitz (USA) and John E. Sulston (GB) for research into programmed cell death as a basis for understanding cancer, AIDS and other diseases.
  • 2001: Leland H. Hartwell (USA), Sir Paul M. Nurse (GB) and R. Timothy Hunt (GB) for insights into cell division that enable new avenues in cancer therapy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *